Little Bird's Dad

“Even one voice can be heard loudly all over the world in this day and age.”

5 Tweets and a Twit.

Twit of the Week

Being over 40 years old, I suppose its only  natural that I don’t “get” Twitter.  I  committed myself to learning what Twitter is and how to use it.

Throughout the week, I’ve pulled 5 tweets that struck a chord with me in one way or another.   Along with each of the tweets, I post a link to an interesting article, blog post, or op-ed piece that I read and liked this week.

After those 5 Tweets, I crown the “Twit of the Week”.

Tweet #5.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 10.00.24 PM

I get it. Players cheat and, in some ways, its part of the story of baseball.  Some scuff the ball, some steal signals, some load their bat and yes, some use performance enhancing drugs.

What burns me about Ryan Braun is that I feel betrayed.

After allegedly testing positive in 2011, Ryan Braun could have taken his lumps, his 50 day suspension, and it would be behind him — and the game.  He chose to fight his suspension,  denied using steroids, and led us all to believe he’d done nothing wrong.

We now know that this was a lie.  Ryan Braun lied to his fellow players and he lied to his fans. I don’t trust him.

Tweet #4.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 9.30.41 PM

Although in the context of a whole different news event, this tweet sums up my thoughts on  caring about “Royal Babies” in the 21st Century.

Did you know that every 3.6 seconds, a human dies of starvation?

At least we still have kings and queens.

Tweet #3.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 9.30.54 PM

44 Years ago this Sunday, either the first man set foot on the moon or the Illuminati faked the first man setting foot on the moon.

What can’t be faked are the words of Edgar Mitchell, the 6th American to set foot on the moon, as rendered by one of my favorite bloggers over at Zen Pencils.

Tweet #2.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 9.31.06 PM

If you have been hanging around this blog for a while, you know  I – and dozens of other bloggers in the DS Community – have been advocating for #JusticeForEthan since February 2013.

This last week, 2 major events occurred.

First, Sheriff Chuck Jenkins of Frederick County released a redacted investigative report of Ethan’s killing; the report raised more questions than it answered.

Second, the Dept of Justice will investigate the Frederick County sheriffs to determine if they violated Ethan’s civil rights the night they knelt on his back, crushed his larynx, and killed him.

(My attorneys tell me I should slip an “allegedly” in the previous sentence.   Just kidding, I don’t have any lawyers).

Please help us continue the fight for JusticeForEthan.

Tweet #1.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 9.32.05 PM

For over a decade now, I’ve watched Mariano Rivera  enter ballgames, as a closer, to the driving beat of Metallica’s “Enter Sandman”.  Last Wednesday, he made this entrance for the last time in a  MLB All-Star Game.

Start watching the video at the end of this article, and at 00:21 seconds, if your heart doesn’t start racing, you’re not a Baseball fan.

Thanks for all the years of great baseball, Mo!!

TWIT of the Week.

Perhaps we shouldn’t expect much intelligence (or humor) from a user whose tag line is “Fat Girls get Fisted”.  Clearly, @LeeWood1995 is in the “low-functioning” range for those diagnosed with Neuro-Typical Syndrome.

For those that don’t know, animals don’t have Down Syndrome. It’s a human condition, resulting from  a 3rd copy of the 21st chromosome.  People with Down Syndrome are not handicapped, and can do anything that people with Neuro-Typical Syndrome can do.

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 11.16.32 AM

4 comments on “5 Tweets and a Twit.

  1. expectantmummy
    25-Jul-2013

    Think the twit of the week was very well deserved scary

    • Little Bird's Dad
      25-Jul-2013

      I am shocked at the vile tweets that our country’s youth post about people with Down Syndrome.

      Some apologize when confronted but others, like this ass-clown, wear their ignorance as a Badge of Honor.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Peace,
      LBD

  2. Scuffing the ball and stealing signs are time honored traditions in baseball. Improves the drama of the game (like the pine tar incident you posted about earlier this week). Steroids are something different – they totally disrupt the rhythm of the game.

    • Little Bird's Dad
      25-Jul-2013

      Anne, deep down inside, I agree with you. I am so glad that the last of the steroid crowd is disappearing from baseball…getting back to the real game of baseball.

      LBD

Leave a comment

Little Bird’s Dad: Doodles on iPad Mini

Get the Friday Link Roundup By Email.

8 Links. 8 Blogs. Every Friday.

Little Bird Tweets

This week’s quote:

Each week, I add a new quote. This week's quote is by Aung San Suu Kyi. Click on the photo to read about this powerful activist in Wikipedia.